top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJason Domican

Retrogamer1987 (Interview)





Retrogamer1987 is a collector of anything Sega had to do with video games, From the Sega mega drive to the Sega 3D glasses, he has it all! This interview will help dive into this incredible collector’s life and see how his passion for Sega all begun.






What is your earliest memory of video games and at what point did you know it was something you would love for life?


When I was around 4 or 5 years old my oldest brother brought home a brand-new Sega Master System that came with the Light Gun. It was such a new and unique experience for all of us. We spent hours and hours playing games like Psycho Fox and Wonder Boy. A couple of years later we got the Sega Mega Drive which is what really got me hooked on video games.



I saw on your Instagram that you were lucky enough to visit japan!

Please tell us as much as you can about the gaming scene there.


Japan is an amazing country and I plan to go back soon. I visited the Electronic District, Akihabara which is lined with buildings packed with arcades, anime, manga and all of the latest tech. The main shop I wanted to visit was Super Potato which has all the retro games, memorabilia and arcade machines like Street Fighter II. The arcade machines were on the top level and it was packed, every machine was in use. I have a lot of footage from it so hopefully I will put it all up soon.



How many games do you have total in your Sega collection?



I have over 400 Mega Drive titles, I also have a quite few doubles just because they had slightly different artwork on the cover. Most of them are complete with manuals. Along with that I have a few Sega CD and 32X titles too. I also have a Sega Dreamcast collection with quite a few titles. I decided to sell off my Sega Master System and Saturn collection as it was all getting too much to handle. The Mega Drive is what I want to focus on. I will keep my Dreamcast collection and try and complete it but the Mega Drive (and add ons) is where it’s at!



What are you top 3 Collectibles you are most proud of owning and why?


My boxed Sega Mega Drive Lion King edition. I picked it up at a garage sale for $10 and have seen it sell on eBay for over $700


My huge gaming magazine collection. I have gaming magazines from the late 80s and 90s. They are a lot of fun to read through, very nostalgic.


The few Mega Drive titles I owned growing up. To have these in my collection beats everything else, I wouldn't have started collecting (or playing) without those great games.




List your Favourite Sega consoles from least to Best and why did you pick that order?


Sega 32X

Sega CD

Sega Saturn

Sega Master System

Sega Dreamcast

Sega Mega Drive


I love all the consoles and don't think any of these are bad at all. The 32X and Sega CD were just unnecessary and severely hindered Sega's chances at future success which is such a shame. I rate the Master System better than the Saturn because it was my first foray into gaming and had amazing titles. The Dreamcast was so ahead of its time and has a fantastic library of games. Of course, the Mega Drive will always rule number one.



Being a Sega collector, I must ask, Thoughts on the Shenmue series?


I only played Shenmue about three years ago on my Dreamcast. Honestly, it was tough for me to get through because of the slow pace, however I can appreciate how amazing it would have been all of those years ago as there wasn't anything quite like it at the time. I know that if I owned it back then I would have been immersed in the world, trying to explore absolutely anything that I could. I haven't played number two yet but plan to get the PS4 version before number three is released. I've watched all the new footage from the upcoming title and I think that it will only really serve people who have the nostalgia of playing the original when it was released but I'm still keen to support the project.



What are your top 3 videos games?


Jungle Strike


GTA Vice City


Witcher 3


These three games absolutely consumed me at different stages in my life!



Games you are excited for?


Cyberpunk 2077

The Last Of Us Part II


I'm also intrigued by the new Dragon Ball Z game (huge fan)


Have your say (Say anything you want)


If you have a similar passion or hobby don't let anyone get you down about it. As long as it makes you happy and gives you that escape then that's all that really matters. I also recommend sharing your stuff like I have on Instagram and connecting with like minded people, there are incredible communities out there.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page